Land Types of southern South Australia

Dataset Number1105
Dataset TitleLand Types of southern South Australia
CustodianData Authority: Department for Environment and Water
Data Provider: Department for Environment and Water


DescriptionLand Types define the broad soil grouping and dominant geologic and topographic setting of Soil Landscape Map Units. There are 29 Land Types within 14 geomorphic groups which have been described across southern South Australia. Each Soil Landscape Unit has an assigned Land Type, indicating the dominant nature of the map unit. The dataset has been created from the Soil Landscape Map Units spatial dataset. These data can be viewed on NatureMaps (>Soils). For further information see Mapping soil and land. Spatial data downloads are available from Data SA.
UsageUsed to supply Government, community groups, industry and the general public with up to date regional, subregional and catchment level soil information for southern South Australia.

Data Quality

LineageThe dataset is based on an interpretation of 1:40,000 stereo colour aerial photography and limited field inspection of landscapes and soils by soil scientists. Soil Landscape Map Unit boundaries were determined after an integration of field observations and recordings; laboratory analyses; stereoscopic examination of aerial photographs; understanding of regional landscape processes and stratigraphy; existing soil and geological mapping data. Land Types spatial dataset has been created by dissolving the Soil Landscape Map Unit spatial dataset.
CompletenessComplete. The spatial data is subject to amendment as and when more data become available.
Positional AccuracyThe accuracy is to the scale of mapping (50 metres at 1:50,000 and 300 metres at 1:100,000 mapping scale). These spatial data are to be used at the regional, subregional and catchment-level, and can be used to provide property overviews; however, they cannot to be used at the paddock level. South East, Kangaroo Island, Mount Lofty Ranges and the 'bottom' of Yorke Peninsula have been mapped at 1:50,000. Eyre Peninsula, the main part of Yorke Peninsula, Murray Mallee and Northern Agricultural Districts have been mapped at 1:100,000.

Geographic Extent

Extent NameAgricultural Region - South Australia
Min Easting or Longitude132.25
Min Northing or Latitude-38
Max Easting or Longitude141
Max Northing or Latitude-32.25

Dataset Status

Initially Acquired01-AUG-1976
Last Updated01-JUL-2009
Update FrequencyAs required
Maintenance MethodAs required
AusGOALCC BY (Attribution)


TableNameField AliasData TypeDescription
Landscape.GeomorphicUnits_LandTypesLAND_TYPE textDescription of Land Type (broad soil grouping)
Landscape.GeomorphicUnits_LandTypesGEOMORPHOLOGY textGeomorphology of Land Type (dominant geological setting)
Landscape.GeomorphicUnits_LandTypesDESCRIPTION textLand Type code

Contact Information

OrganisationDepartment for Environment and Water
Science Monitoring and Knowledge
Postal AddressGPO Box 1047