Biophysical Regions of southern South Australia

Dataset Number1087
Dataset TitleBiophysical Regions of southern South Australia
CustodianData Authority: Department for Environment and Water
Data Provider: Department for Environment and Water


DescriptionA hierarchy of landscape mapping units has been developed for southern South Australia, based upon Soil Landscape Map Units. This hierarchy, from the broadest to most detailed, is as follows: Biophysical Regions, Biophysical Subregions, Land Zones, and Land Systems, which are all based upon groupings of Soil Landscape Map Units within limited geographical areas. A Biophysical Region is a very broad area, differentiated from other regions by the general nature of soils, landscapes, geology, native vegetation, climate and land use. Seven Biophysical Regions have been defined: Eyre Peninsula, Yorke Peninsula, Northern (including all of the Northern Agricultural Districts), Central (the Mount Lofty Ranges and adjacent plains), Murray Mallee, Kangaroo Island, and South East. Forty three Biophysical Subregions have been defined. Subregions are areas of land that form broad divisions within Biophysical Regions. Their delineation is based upon considerations of the nature of soils, landscapes, geology, native vegetation, climate and land use. Land Zones form broad divisions within Biophysical Subregions. Their delineation is based upon considerations of the nature of soils, landscapes, geology, native vegetation, subclimate and land use.
UsageUsed to supply Government, community groups, industry and the general public with up to date regional, subregional and catchment level landscape and general landscape information across southern South Australia. For further information see Mapping soil and land. These data can be viewed on NatureMaps (>Soils). Spatial data downloads are available from Data SA.

Data Quality

LineageThe dataset is based on an interpretation of 1:40,000 stereo colour aerial photography and limited field inspection of landscapes and soils by soil scientists. Boundaries were determined after an integration of field observations and recordingsSELECT 1 FROM DUAL; laboratory analysesSELECT 1 FROM DUAL; stereoscopic examination of aerial photographsSELECT 1 FROM DUAL; understanding of regional landscape processes and stratigraphySELECT 1 FROM DUAL; existing soil and geological mapping data.
CompletenessBiophysical Regions and Subregions of southern South Australia are 100% complete. The Land Zone data is as yet only complete for Kangaroo Island.
Positional AccuracyThe accuracy is to the scale of mapping (50 metres at 1:50,000 and 300 metres at 1:100,000 mapping scale). These spatial data are to be used at the regional, subregional and catchment-level, and can be used to provide property overviewsSELECT 1 FROM DUAL; however, they cannot to be used at the paddock level. South East, Kangaroo Island, Mount Lofty Ranges and the 'bottom' of Yorke Peninsula have been mapped at 1:50,000. Eyre Peninsula, the main part of Yorke Peninsula, Murray Mallee and Northern Agricultural Districts have been mapped at 1:100,000.

Geographic Extent

Extent NameAgricultural Region - South Australia
Min Easting or Longitude132.25
Min Northing or Latitude-38
Max Easting or Longitude141
Max Northing or Latitude-32.25

Dataset Status

Initially Acquired01-JAN-2000
Last Updated01-JUL-2009
Update FrequencyAs required
Maintenance MethodAs required
AusGOALCC BY (Attribution)


TableNameField AliasData TypeDescription
Landscape.Biophysical_L1RegionsREGION_NAME textBiophysical Region Name: Broad landscape features within which there are recurring patterns of topography, soils and vegetation
Landscape.Biophysical_L1RegionsREGION_CODE textBiophysical Region Code derived from the Region name (Central (C), Eyre Peninsula (E), Kangaroo Island (K), Mallee (M), Northern (N), South East (S), Yorke Peninsula (Y), Out of Regions (O)).

Contact Information

OrganisationDepartment for Environment and Water
Science Monitoring and Knowledge
Postal AddressGPO Box 1047